Skip to content

Bardo Pond | No Hashish, No Change Money, No Saki Saki (2023)



All tracks recorded at the Lemur House, Philadelphia PA between June and December 1993 except for “Earth and Sky” which was recorded live at WKDU in 1993 and “Amen” and “Candlelight” which were recorded live at the Khyber Pass in Philadelphia. Mastered in 2022 by Carl Saff. Originally released in a small self-released cassette edition in 1993.
Philadelphia psych stalwarts Bardo Pond issued several cassettes in the early 1990s before releasing their proper debut full-length, Bufo Alvarius, and reaching greater exposure with several albums on Matador Records. No Hashish, No Change Money, No Saki Saki first appeared as a self-distributed tape in 1993, then later as a remastered CD-R, and finally as a… All Music

Bardo Pond: No Hashish No Change Money No Saki Saki

I have often wondered what exactly the true roots were for Bardo Pond. For a band with such a unique sound, where did it all come from? In a recent discussion with Michael Gibbons he was quick to tell me that their earliest true influences were Sabbath, free jazz and no wave. Using these sounds as the initial seeds, the band coalesced and poked their heads out into the world and discovered the rest of what would guide them as a unit. Their early palette quickly added shades from early Dinosaur Jr, My Bloody Valentine, Charalambides, Spacemen 3, the entire Siltbreeze catalog, Sonic Youth, Skullflower and the Sun City Girls. The combination made from such diverse influences is what the band had in their collective head between June and December of 1993 when they recorded No Hashish, No Change Money, No Saki Saki and released it as a cassette, partially in an effort to secure more gigs.
This is a snapshot of Bardo Pond in its earliest form – then a quartet consisting of Isobel Sollenberger (flute, vocals), Joe Culver (drums) and Michael and John Gibbons on guitars… Kim Gordon, Los Angeles 2022

1. Hummingbird Mountain (7:28)
2. Earth and Sky (2:28)
3. Sometimes Words (5:06)
4. High Horse (5:54)
5. I Forgot (6:58)
6. Rupture (6:31)
7. Candle Light (2:01)
8. Amen (9:02)
9. Transistor (2:08)
10. Round and Round (6:39)
11. Lag (2:05)

Isobel Sollenberger – vocals, flute
John Gibbons – guitar
Michael Gibbons – guitar
Joe Culver – drums


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *