Skip to content

The Strokes – The Singles: Volume 01


vm 122
On February 24, The Strokes will release The Singles – Volume 01, a box set collecting the group’s electrifying early singles, via RCA Records/Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment. The set features ten unforgettable singles from the band’s first three albums-Is This It (2001), Room on Fire (2003) and First Impressions of Earth (2006)-as well as rare B-sides from the original single releases. All ten singles will be pressed on black 7” vinyl with the artwork from each original release replicated in the package.
Formed in Manhattan in 1999, The Strokes—singer Julian Casablancas, guitarists Nick Valensi and Albert Hammond Jr., bassist Nikolai Fraiture and drummer Fabrizio Moretti—were at the center of a fertile scene of guitar-driven rock bands in New York City at the turn of the 21st century. Their debut EP The Modern Age was lauded worldwide and major label debut Is This It, released later that year, was hailed as the best album of the year by Billboard, NME, Entertainment Weekly, Time and CMJ, making year-end best-of lists in The New York Times, Rolling Stone, USA Today, MOJO and earning the No. 2 spot on the Village Voice’s prestigious Pazz & Jop poll. Legacy Recordings

1. The Modern Age (Rough Trade Version) (3:13)
2. Last Nite (Rough Trade Version – The Modern Age B-Side) (3:19)

1. Hard To Explain (3:44)
2. New York City Cops (Hard to Explain B-Side) (3:30)

1. Last Nite (3:13)
2. When It Started (Last Nite B-Side) (2:55)

1. Someday (3:03)
2. Alone, Together (Home Recording – Someday B-Side) (3:17)
3. Is This It (Home Recording – Someday B-Side) (1:13)

1. 12:51 (2:27)
2. The Way It Is (Home Recording – 12:51 B-Side) (1:17)

1. Reptilia (3:35)
2. Modern Girls & Old Fashion Men (Reptilia B-Side) (3:38)

1. The End Has No End (3:00)
2. Clampdown (The End Has No End B-Side / Live at Alexandra Palace, London, UK – Dec. 5, 2003) (4:09)

1. Juicebox (3:14)
2. Hawaii (Juicebox B-Side) (3:53)

1. Heart In a Cage (3:26)
2. I’ll Try Anything Once (“You Only Live Once” demo) (Heart In a Cage B-Side) (3:15)

1. You Only Live Once (3:06)
2. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) (You Only Live Once B-Side) (2:38)

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *