Skip to content

The National | First Two Pages of Frankenstein (2023)



The National announce the release of their ninth studio album, First Two Pages of Frankenstein, due April 28 2023 via 4AD. Anchored by evocative melodies and an enthralling lyrical narrative, FTPoF signals a new chapter in the band’s beloved discography. The 11-song album was produced by The National at Long Pond Studios in upstate New York and features guest appearances by Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, and Sufjan Stevens. After two back-to-back albums and several busy years of touring, FTPoF… 4AD

The National: First Two Pages of Frankenstein

…was initially stalled while lead singer Matt Berninger navigated, “a very dark spot where I couldn’t come up with lyrics or melodies at all… Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end.” Instead,  “managed to come back together and approach everything from a different angle, and because of that we arrived at what feels like a new era for the band,” according to guitarist/pianist Bryce Dessner, whose bandmates also include his brother Aaron (guitar/piano/bass) as well as brothers Scott Devendorf (bass, guitar) and Bryan Devendorf (drums). 4AD

1. Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens) [3:36]
2. Eucalyptus [4:24]
3. New Order T-Shirt [4:56]
4. This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) [4:04]
5. Tropic Morning News [5:09]
6. Alien [4:07]
7. The Alcott (With Taylor Swift) [4:27]
8. Grease In Your Hair [3:57]
9. Ice Machines [4:16]
10. Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) [4:24]
11. Send For Me [4:14]



How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *