Skip to content

The White Stripes | Elephant [20th Anniversary] (2023)


The White Stripes are celebrating the 20th anniversary of their RIAA Platinum-certified 2003 fourth studio album, Elephant, with two special releases. Elephant (Deluxe) is out digitally on Friday, March 31 via Third Man Records and sees the remastered HD audio of the original studio album joined with the band’s July 2, 2003 27-song set at Chicago’s Aragon Ballroom from their Elephant Tour. A limited edition 2xLP version of the original Elephant album will be released on Red Smoke (1st LP) & Clear with Red & Black Smoke (2nd LP) colored vinyl on Friday, April 21.
Released on April 1, 2003, Elephant swiftly proved to be a critically acclaimed, award-winning phenomenon, as well as garnering worldwide popularity, peaking at #6 on the Billboard 200 while also topping the UK’s Official Albums Chart. Largely recorded… Legacy Recordings

The White Stripes | Elephant [20th Anniversary]

…over two weeks in April 2002 at London’s analogue Toe Rag Studios, Elephant includes such now-classic singles as the GRAMMY® Award-winning “Seven Nation Army,” “I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself,” “The Hardest Button To Button,” and “There’s No Home For You Here,” all of which prompted Rolling Stone’s David Fricke to hail the album as quite simply, “a work of pulverizing perfection.” Elephant went on to win the 2004 GRAMMY® Award for “Best Alternative Album” and was an “Album of the Year” nominee. Legacy Recordings

The 20th anniversary of the White Stripes’ classic album Elephant is coming up, and with Third Man Records already celebrating the occasion with a mono remix, the label has now announced a more traditional reissue as well.
Elephant will be reissued in two forms: as a deluxe digital edition with remastered audio and a 27-song live album, and in a snazzy-looking vinyl pressing featuring coloured LPs described as “red smoke” and “clear with red and black smoke.” It also appears to feature an alternate album cover with Jack wearing an all-white ensemble. This colourful vinyl pressing features the standard tracklist without any of the bonuses… exclaim

Third Man Records is excited to announce Vault Package #55, The White Stripes – Elephant XX, the 20th anniversary expanded accompaniment to the band’s seminal 2003 album. In addition to a new mono remix of the entire album on red and white LPs, this package includes a red glitter 7″ with Jack White’s original solo demos of Elephant fan favorite “Hypnotize,” a DVD with never-before-seen footage from the era, and a 28-page booklet of previously-unshared photos, all housed in a custom slipcase.
The work an artist creates on the precipice of their star turn, with attention solidly focused on them…well, those are the moments that become truly magical. If ever a singularly magical moment exists in the history of The White Stripes, it is likely the release and ensuing hubbub behind their 2003 album Elephant.
As explosive initial releases are ever-deserving of further examination and celebration, it should come as no surprise that the 55th installment of Third Man Records Vault subscription series is the twentieth anniversary collection Elephant XX. Third Man Records

  • Seven Nation Army
  • Black Math
  • There’s No Home For You Here
  • I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
  • In The Cold, Cold Night
  • I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother’s Heart
  • You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket
  • Ball And Biscuit
  • The Hardest Button To Button
  • Little Acorns
  • Hypnotize
  • The Air Near My Fingers
  • Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine
  • It’s True That We Love One Another


Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.2 x 12.2 x 0.4 inches; 1.41 Pounds
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Legacy Recordings
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Legacy Recordings
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BX7CJ8M1
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 2

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *