Skip to content

VA | Eddie Piller Presents British Mod Sounds of the 1960s Volume 2: The Freakbeat and Psych Years (2023)

eddie piller presents british mod sounds vol2

Curated by Acid Jazz Records and Modcast founder Eddie Piller, “British Mod Sounds of The 1960s Volume 2: The Freakbeat & Psych Years” is the follow up to the hugely successful “British Mod Sounds of The 1960s”, featuring 95 original tracks across a 4CD set – a deep dive into the post-Mod scene in ’60s Britain. Featuring a selection of classic and rare tracks, tracing the scene from early ’65 to the dawn of a new decade.
Even before Demon’s well received 2022 box set ‘British Mod Sounds of The 1960s’ was released conversations were being had around a follow-up, though rather than just offering a straight if slightly diluted second volume, compiler Eddie Piller decided to put together a collection exploring “What the Mods did next”. Once again, long conversations (and the occasional heated debate) were had to ensure the quality of music and attention to detail were second to none. Anything less just wouldn’t be the Mod way. The British Mod bands that had made the first half of the decade so exciting were still around but inevitably their influences had changed. Demon Music Group

Eddie Piller Presents British Mod Sounds of the 1960s Volume 2: The Freakbeat and Psych Years

Audio CD:


No longer content with re-hashing American R&B, the scene split in multiple directions, not all of it forward looking – some hardened their up-tempo sound and gradually evolved into what we would come to know as Freakbeat. Others bought in psychedelic, esoteric or Eastern influences. A third strand explored a more pastoral or Folk based route. Simply put, songs and hair got longer.
Before the decade was out the choices for the discerning listener included Jazz-Rock, Proto-Prog, Whimsy, Heavy Rock, and Psychedelic Soul – even sounds derived from Cockney music-hall made an appearance.

‘Volume 2: The Freakbeat & Psych Years’ tracks the development of the original Mod mainstays (the Small Faces, The Who, The Action, The Kinks), with a generous selection of future superstars (David Bowie, Marc Bolan, Fleetwood Mac, Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin and Steve Howe of Yes are all represented here), alongside a few artists so obscure, so rare, that they never got to release a record in the ’60s, but Eddie has tracked down the tapes nonetheless.
Stylishly packaged (of course) and including a new sleeve note by Richard Norris, author, musician, producer and DJ, who worked at pioneering psychedelic reissue label Bam Caruso in the ’80s, produced Joe Strummer’s Mescaleros, but is perhaps best known as one half of Techno duo The Grid and the critically acclaimed group Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve. Demon Music Group


  • The Fairies – Get Yourself Home
  • The Birds – No Good Without You Baby
  • The Poets – Call Again
  • The Sorrows – You’ve Got What I Want
  • The Eyes – When The Night Falls
  • The New Breed – Unto Us
  • The Riot Squad – I Take It We’re Through
  • Jan Panter – Scratch My Back
  • Wimple Winch – Save My Soul
  • Loose Ends – Taxman
  • The Ivy League – My World Fell Down
  • Yardbirds – Happenings Ten Years Time Ago
  • Fleur De Lys – Mud In Your Eye
  • The Truth – Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)
  • Scots Of St James – Tic Toc
  • The Flies – I’m Not Your Stepping Stone
  • The Move – Disturbance
  • The Craig – I Must Be Mad
  • The Drag Set – Day And Night
  • Apostolic Intervention – Tell Me (Have You Ever Seen Me)
  • David Bowie – The Gospel According To Tony Day
  • Tomorrow – My White Bicycle
  • John’s Children – Midsummer Night’s Scene
  • Caleb – Baby Your Phrasing Is Bad
  • The Attack – Created By Clive
  • The Gods – Come On Down To My Boat Baby
  • Alex Harvey – The Sunday Song
  • Keith West – Excerpt From a Teenage Opera


  • Our Plastic Dream – Encapsulated Marigold
  • The Action – In My Dream
  • Dantalian’s Chariot – Madman Running Through The Fields
  • Kaleidoscope – Flight From Ashiya
  • Sands – Listen To The Sky
  • Scott Walker – Montagu Terrace (In Blue)
  • The 23rd Turnoff – Michael Angelo
  • The Fairytale – Listen To Mary Cry
  • Felius Andromeda – Meditations
  • Ice – Anniversary Of Love
  • Rupert’s People – Dream On My Mind
  • The Accent – Red Sky At Night
  • The Creation – Life Is Just Beginning
  • The Who – I Can See For Miles
  • Fleetwood Mac – Rambling Pony
  • The Cymbaline – Matrimonial Fears
  • Tintern Abbey – Vacuum Cleaner
  • Traffic – Coloured Rain
  • Andy Ellison – It’s Been A Long Time
  • The Micky Finn – Garden Of My Mind
  • Warm Sounds – Nite Is A Comin’
  • Mike Stuart Span – Children Of Tomorrow
  • Nirvana – Rainbow Chaser
  • Mark Wirtz – (He’s Our Dear Old) Weatherman


  • Spencer Davis Group – Moonshine
  • The End – Shades Of Orange
  • The Fire – Father’s Name Is Dad
  • Turquoise – Tales Of Flossie Fillett
  • Billy Nicholls – London Social Degree
  • Aquarian Age – 10,000 Words In A Cardboard Box
  • Status Quo – Pictures of Matchstick Men
  • The Idle Race – The Morning Sunshine
  • The Montanas – A Step In The Right Direction
  • July – Dandelion Seeds
  • Family – See Through Windows
  • Icarus – The Devil Rides Out
  • Plastic Penny – Your Way To Tell Me Go
  • The Elastic Band – 8 1/2 Hours Of Paradise
  • Vamp – Floatin’
  • Paul West & Compass – Hey You
  • Sam Gopal – Escalator
  • Sound Barrier – Groovin’ Slow
  • Apple – Buffalo Billycan
  • Timebox – Gone Is The Sad Man
  • Locomotive – Mr Armageddon
  • Ossie Layne Show – Rock My Plimsoul
  • The Californians – The Cooks Of Cake And Kindness


  • The Koobas – Barricades
  • The Troggs – Evil Woman
  • Graham Bond – Love Is The Law
  • The Misunderstood – Children Of The Sun
  • Small Faces – Me, You and Us Too
  • The Fruit Machine – I’m Alone Today
  • Brian Auger Feat. Julie Driscoll – Flesh Failures (Let The Sunshine In)
  • Terry Reid – Superlungs My Supergirl
  • Jason Crest – Black Mass
  • The Open Mind – Magic Potion
  • Quiet Melon – Diamond Joe
  • Humble Pie – Wrist Job
  • Mighty Baby – Same Way From The Sun
  • Colosseum – Elegy
  • Blonde On Blonde – Castles In The Sky
  • Peter Wyngarde – Neville Thumbcatch
  • The Kinks – This Time Tomorrow
  • Satisfaction – My Fixation (Edit)
  • Nucleus – Song For The Bearded Lady
  • Graham Dee – Car Chase

Package Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 7.64 x 5.63 x 0.55 inches; 9.52 Ounces
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Edsel Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Edsel Records
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BL7MN5B1
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 4

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *