Skip to content

Peter Case | Doctor Moan (2023)


Peter Case as a member of the groundbreaking proto punk band The Nerves, former frontman for the wildly underrated Plimsouls, and a remarkable solo artist for the past three decades, has earned the right to deviate from the music people expect from him at this point. And deviate he does on Doctor Moan, his 16th solo album.
Across 11 tracks, Case puts down the guitar for most of the set and moves to the piano for this wide-ranging collection of jazz, blues and folk songs. “I grew up on 1950s and ‘60s rock & roll… Americana Highways
And now for something completely different. At least concerning Peter Case. The one-time punk (The Nerves) and power pop (The Plimsouls) frontman has been a hard-core folk/blues/roots rock troubadour since his still stunning 1986 solo debut. Sixteen albums and one pandemic later, he’s still at it. But now he has changed things up. Case strips down to a (mostly) trio format… American Songwriter

Peter Case: Doctor Moan

Audio CD:

Freedom is always interesting. Whether you can’t stop watching the most uninhibited figure on the dance floor or the adventurer willing to go farther than most, there’s something exhilarating – even for those of us on the sidelines – about someone who hoists the sails and goes where the wind takes them. That’s the proper lens through which Peter Case has been viewed for the last few decades. A musical childhood in the ’50s and ’60s gave way to early punk/power-pop bands like The Nerves (who toured with The Ramones) and The Plimsouls before he charted his own solo course (and side projects) starting in the mid-’80s. He’s worked with T Bone Burnett, called Lucinda Williams a bandmate, earned praise from Bruce Springsteen, and played with nearly every well-known instrumentalist in L.A. No Depression

  • Have You Ever Been In Trouble? (4:36)
  • That Gang Of Mine (4:06)
  • Downtown Nowhere’s Blues (4:37)
  • Eyes Of Love (5:26)
  • Give Me Five Minutes More (4:34)
  • Wandering Days (3:40)
  • Ancient Sunrise (4:19)
  • The Flying Crow (4:09)
  • Girl In Love With A Shadow (3:00)
  • 4D (2:08)
  • Brand New Book Of Rules (5:13)

Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Sunset Blvd Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Sunset Blvd Records
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *