Skip to content

La Marisoul / Los Texmaniacs | Corazones and Canciones (2023)

La Marisoul Los Texmaniacs Corazones and Canciones

In Corazones and Canciones, two Mexican American musical powerhouses join forces to create an album overflowing with heart and imagination. L.A.’s Marisol Hernández-La Marisoul and San Antonio-based Tejano conjunto Los Texmaniacs draw from a repertoire of cherished canciones rancheras, and boleros. “Everything is done with heart and soul, because of the passion and love we have for this music,” asserts Texmaniacs leader Max Baca. Adds Marisol, “It’s just as American as it is Mexican; that’s one of the special things about living in the United States.” Special guest Little Joe Hernández adds his trademark vocals to the melody of “Las nubes,” the song he propelled to the forefront of the Chicano Movement. Smithsonian Folkways

La Marisoul / Los Texmaniacs:
Corazones and Canciones

A 15-song collection of generation-spanning Mexican-American classics from all over the US (Los Canciones), the album celebrates the love, joy, and the ineffable feeling that music can evoke, while simultaneously shining a light on the importance of Mexican-American music within the overall American Roots tradition. This music makes clear that Mexican-American music is American music with life-affirming energy and passion. Ranging in sound from dancehall and conjunto polka-beats to romantic Tejano guitar (all accented by La Marisoul’s booming, soulful vocals, and Los Texmaniacs’ exuberant playing), each song was chosen for its heart, emotional potential, and ability to connect people across age, place, and time (Los Corazones).

While working on Corazones and Canciones, one of the feelings that La Marisoul and Max Baca, Los Texmaniacs’ Albuquerque-born, San Antonio–based leader and bajo sexto maestro, aimed to capture was the sense of belonging that being part of the extended Mexican-American community can bring. Though they are not related by blood, La Marisoul and Baca (and the rest of Los Texmaniacs) were deeply inspired by that specialness of being Mexican-American and that sense of community – of being “primos” (cousins). La Marisoul said of her fellow Mexican-American musicians: “They make me feel like I belong to something now. I have my primos, Los Texmaniacs.” Though they may be from Albuquerque, while La Marisoul was born, raised, and lives in Los Angeles, “they mix it up, too, and we’re related, you know? And I love that … I’m a sister from a different mister…. Smithsonian Folkways

Audio CD:

  • Grítenme, Piedras del Campo (Shout Out to Me, Stones of the Field) (3:30)
  • Hermoso Cariño (Beautiful Love) (2:59)
  • Cuatro Copas (Four Drinks) (3:42)
  • La Rosa de Oro (The Golden Rose) (2:59)
  • Mucho Corazon (A Lot of Heart) (3:53)
  • Las Nubes (The Clouds) (4:19)
  • Before The Next Teardrop Falls (3:44)
  • Que Suerte la Mía (What (Bad) Luck I Have) (4:38)
  • A Medias de la Noche (In the Middle of the Night) (3:16)
  • Como Dios Manda (As God Commands) (3:15)
  • Mal Hombre (Evil Man) (3:31)
  • Ojala Que Te Vaya Bonito (I Wish You the Best) (2:56)
  • Me Caí de la Nube (I Fell from the Cloud) (3:31)
  • Amarga Navidad (Bitter Christmas) (3:14)
  • Vámonos (Lets Go Away Together) (4:22)

Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *