Skip to content

Neil Young with the Santa Monica Flyers | Somewhere Under the Rainbow 1973 (2023)

Neil Young with The Santa Monica Flyers

Neil Young with the Santa Monica Flyers (Neil Young, Nils Lofgren, Ben Keith, Billy Talbot, Ralph Molina) played London’s Rainbow Theatre on November 5th, 1973, with the first half of the concert dedicated to Neil Young’s masterpiece album Tonight’s The Night. The intense concert was recorded by Pete Long, and includes riveting versions of the Tonight’s The Night tracks, plus Young classics “Cowgirl In The Sand”, “Don’t Be Denied” and “Flying On The Ground Is Wrong”. Warner Records
Somewhere Under the Rainbow, OBS No. 2, was recorded live at London’s Rainbow Theatre (today, an Evangelical church) on November 5, 1973. Young was joined by The Santa Monica Flyers, a.k.a. Nils Lofgren (lead and rhythm guitar, piano, accordion, vocals), Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar, vocals), Billy Talbot (bass, vocals), and Ralph Molina (drums, vocals). The Second Disc

Neil Young with The Santa Monica Flyers: Somewhere Under the Rainbow 1973

(Talbot and Molina, of course, have been the only two consistent members of Crazy Horse since the band’s inception; Lofgren played in the band in 1970-1971, 1973, and from 2018 to the present day. Ben Keith first worked with Young on 1971’s Harvest, beginning a 40-year collaboration.) The Flyers all played on the sessions for Young’s Tonight’s the Night album, much of which was played at the Rainbow. They were in a particularly improvisational frame of mind that night, leading to some of the most spontaneous and charged performances of the artist’s career. The intense show was rounded out by some all-time classics including “Flying on the Ground Is Wrong,” “Helpless,” and “Cowgirl in the Sand.” Somewhere Under the Rainbow offers new liner notes from original engineer Pete Long. It arrives on two CDs or two LPs. The Second Disc

Audio CD:


CD 1:

  • Tonight’s The Night
  • Mellow My Mind
  • World On A String
  • Speakin’ Out
  • Albuquerque
  • New Mama
  • Roll Another Number (For The Road)
  • Tired Eyes
  • Tonight’s The Night – Part II

CD 2:

  • Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
  • Human Highway
  • Helpless
  • Don’t Be Denied
  • Cowgirl In The Sand

Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Reprise
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Reprise
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09T1C8S8C
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 2

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *