Skip to content

The Ducks | High Flyin’ (2023)

the ducks high flyin

This is the first official release by The Ducks – a short lived group that Neil played with in 1977. The Ducks featured Neil (guitar, harmonica and vocals), Bob Mosley (bass and vocals), Jeff Blackburn (guitar and vocals) and Johnny Craviotto (drums). Mosley was an original member of Bay Area band Moby Grape; Blackburn had previously fronted his own band and co-wrote with Neil the classic track “My My Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)”.
The band played several shows in Santa Cruz, CA and other California venues during two months in 1977, and this 3-LP, 2 CD, 25-track live album features highlights from those shows. The set lists were very democratic, with each member of the band taking the lead in turn. 5 Neil Young songs are showcased, including a rocking version of “Mr. Soul”, plus beautiful renditions of “Are You Ready For The Country”, “Little Wing”, “Sail Away” and “Human Highway”. Warner Records

The Ducks: High Flyin’

High Flyin’, OBS No. 6, captures the short-lived band known as The Ducks, a.k.a. Young, Moby Grape’s Bob Mosley (bass/vocals), Jeff Blackburn (guitar/vocals), and Johnny Craviotto (drums/vocals). The band played a mere 22 shows in summer 1977, most unannounced, around the Santa Cruz area at clubs including The Back Room, The Crossroads Club, and The Catalyst. The Ducks evolved from The Jeff Blackburn Band, and setlists would typically feature material sung by all four members. This release has been drawn from various shows and is the first official release by The Ducks. Five Young songs are featured: “Mr. Soul,” “Are You Ready for the Country,” “Little Wing,” “Sail Away,” and “Human Highway.” Jeff Blackburn would go on to co-write “My My Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)” with Neil. The Second Disc

Audio CD:


CD 1:

  • I Am a Dreamer
  • Younger Days
  • Gypsy Wedding
  • Are You Ready For The Country?
  • Hold On Boys
  • My My My (Poor Man)
  • I’m Tore Down
  • Hey Now
  • Wide Eyed and Willing
  • Truckin’ Man
  • Sail Away
  • Gone Dead Train
  • Silver Wings

CD 2:

  • Human Highway
  • Your Love
  • I’m Ready
  • Little Wing
  • Car Tune
  • Windward Passage
  • Leaving Us Now
  • Soul
  • Two Riders
  • Honky Tonk Man
  • Sailor Man
  • Silver Wings

Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Reprise
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Reprise
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 2

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *