Skip to content

Desmond Dekker | Essential Artist Collection (2023)

  • reggae

Probably no other Jamaican artist has brought more international acclaim to his island home than Desmond Dekker, barring, of course, Bob Marley, but Dekker came first. Many were introduced to the island’s unique musical sound by the singer’s many hits, most notably “Israelites” and “0.0.7. (Shanty Town).” Needless to say, he was even more influential in his homeland. All Music
The original King of Reggae, Desmond Dekker introduced the sound of Jamaica to the world at large through a series of international hits, with his music gracing the UK pop charts on no less than 7 occasions between 1967 and 1975. This incredible run of hits included, ‘007’, ‘It Mek’, ‘Pickney Gal’, ‘You Can Get It If You Really Want’, ‘Sing A Little Song’ and the first Jamaican-produced recording to top the British 7” singles listings, ‘Israelites’. All of these essential recordings feature on the ‘The ‘Essential Artist Collection’, which also includes the very best of his remaining work, with almost every track a major Jamaican best-seller. Trojan Records

Desmond Dekker: Essential Artist Collection

Audio CD:


CD 1:

  • Israelites (with The Aces)
  • It Mek (with The Aces)
  • Fu Man Chu (with The Aces)
  • (Where Did It Go) The Song We Used To
  • Beautiful and Dangerous (with The Aces)
  • King of Ska (with The Cherry Pies)
  • Intensified ’68 (with The Aces)
  • Sabotage (with The Aces)
  • Sugar Dumpling (with The Aces)
  • Don’t Blame Me (with The Aces)
  • Perseverance
  • It’s a Shame (with The Aces)
  • Jeserine (with The Cherry Pies)
  • Bongo Gal (with The Aces)
  • Pick Up The Phone
  • Mother’s Young Gal (with The Aces)
  • This Woman (with The Four Aces)
  • Shing a Ling (with The Aces)
  • You Can Get It If You Really Want
  • Unity (with The Aces)
  • Live and Learn
  • Rudy Got Soul (with The Aces)
  • Get Up Adina (with The Four Aces)
  • Generosity
  • Pretty Africa (with The Aces)


  • 007 (with The Aces)
  • The First for a Long Time
  • Rude Boy Train (with The Aces)
  • Honour Your Mother and Father
  • It Pays (with The Aces)
  • Problems (with The Aces)
  • Wise Man (with The Aces)
  • Mother Nature
  • It Gotta Be So
  • Beware
  • Coconut Water (with The Aces)
  • Soldering (with The Four Aces)
  • Busted Lad
  • Sweet Music (with The Aces)
  • Labour for Learning
  • No Place Like Home
  • Writing on the Wall (with The Aces)
  • Parents
  • Sing a Little Song
  • Mother Pepper (with The Aces)
  • Mount Zion (with The Four Aces)
  • Licking Stick (with The Aces)
  • Young Generation (with The Aces)
  • Pickney Gal (with The Aces)
  • Jamaica Ska (with The Specials)

Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Trojan Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Trojan Records
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 2

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *