Skip to content

Drive-By Truckers | The Complete Dirty South (2023)


In 2004 the Drive-By Truckers released what would become the best selling album in their illustrious catalog. The Dirty South is a concept album that examines the state of the South, and unveils the hypocrisy, irony, and tragedy that continues to exist. The album features live show staples like, “Tornadoes”, “Where The Devil Don’t Stay” and “Puttin’ People On The Moon” as well as rarities like “Goode’s Field Road” and “Daddy’s Cup.” The Complete Dirty South is a band-led rework of the original album. Principal member, Patterson Hood, took the reins and reimagined this record as it was originally intended. The complete version features resequenced audio, three additional tracks, four remixes along with updated vocals. The packaging comes with a perfect bound book featuring liner notes from Patterson Hood, track by track descriptions from Mike Cooley and Jason Isbell as well as never before seen photos along with updated artwork from the late Wes Freed. “This ‘Director’s Cut’ is the way it was always intended to be heard” – Patterson Hood

Drive-By Truckers: The Complete Dirty South

Audio CD:


Originally released in 2004, an upcoming remixed version includes bonus tracks and two songs with new vocals. SOUTHERN ROCK OPERA or The Dirty South? Ask any Drive-By Truckers fan to name the band’s recorded masterpiece and you’ll likely get a spirited debate. On Tuesday, the group makes their own case for the latter with the announcement of a massive package titled The Complete Dirty South. Due June 16, The Complete Dirty South revisits the 2004 concept album about the South and its complicated figures with bonus tracks, remixed songs, and even new vocals on “Puttin’ People on the Moon” and “The Sands of Iwo Jima.” Rolling Stone

Drive-By Truckers’ beloved 2004 album, The Dirty South, is getting an expanded reissue. The Complete Dirty South is out June 16 via New West. The album is referred to as a “director’s cut” of sorts, as the album is re-sequenced and expanded to reflect the band’s initially proposed 17-song tracklist. It includes three bonus songs left off the original album, four remixed songs, and two that feature updated vocals. The Complete Dirty South comes with 32-page book featuring new and original liner notes, track-by-track descriptions from Hood, Mike Cooley, and Jason Isbell, plus never-before-seen photos and updated artwork by the late Wes Freed. It was remastered by Greg Calbi. Pitchfork

Drive-By Truckers are reimagining their beloved 2004 album, The Dirty South, this summer in a version said to hew closer to “the way it was always intended to be heard,” according to group member Patterson Hood. The Complete Dirty South arrives June 16 from New West Records and is led by a new incarnation of “Puttin’ People on the Moon,” with newly recorded vocals from Hood.
“We recorded it in Muscle Shoals (in one take) in January 2004, but by the time the record came out, I had already begun to regret the vocal take, which attempted some things I hadn’t yet really learned how to do at that time,” Hood says of the track. “As the years have passed, it is one of two on that album that has always really bothered me when I hear it played, while live it has morphed into a truly powerful song for me to sing. When we were given the opportunity to do a ‘Directors Cut’ version of what many consider to be our masterpiece, I wanted to take another stab at that vocal and nailed what I believe to be a definitive version of it in one take — one that truly captures the inherent anger and despair of the song as written and played by the band. The scream at the end might be the most primal recording of my voice anywhere in our catalog and I’m very proud to have this version out there after all these years. The Complete Dirty South might indeed be DBT’s masterpiece.” SPIN

  • Where the Devil Don’t Stay (Remastered)
  • Tornadoes (Remastered)
  • The Day John Henry Died (Remastered)
  • Puttin’ People on the Moon (Vocal Recut / Remixed / Remastered)
  • Goode’s Field Road (Remixed / Remastered)
  • Carl Perkins’ Cadillac (Remastered)
  • TVA (Remastered)
  • The Sands of Iwo Jima (Vocal Recut / Remixed / Remastered)
  • Danko / Manuel (Remastered)
  • The Boys From Alabama (Remastered)
  • The Buford Stick (Remastered)
  • Never Gonna Change (Remastered)
  • Cottonseed (Remastered)
  • The Great Car Dealer War (Remixed / Remastered)
  • Daddy’s Cup (Remastered)
  • Lookout Mountain (Remastered)
  • Goddamn Lonely Love (Remastered)

Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ New West Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ New West Records
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0C1QL7XP3
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 2

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *