Skip to content

The Lemonheads | Come on Feel [30th Anniversary Edition] (2023)


Expanded 30th anniversary re-issue of The Lemonheads’ classic 1993 album. The breakthrough record that took American alt rock global and catapulted Evan Dando into the hearts of a generation. With a wealth of unreleased demos, alternative versions and rarities – including covers of Victoria Williams, Buddy Holly and The Flying Burrito Brothers plus The Lemonhead’s take on the Cole Porter standard ‘Miss Otis Regrets’.
In the 90’s Evan’s Lemonheads produced hit after a hit, a string of super cool singles: ‘Big Gay Heart’, ‘Into Your Arms’, ‘It’s About Time’, and ‘The Great Big NO’. Pure genius filling the radio waves and taking the stage… Some 30 years on; Evan is still knocking that song writing thing out of the park and ‘Come On Feel The Lemonheads’ sounds as fresh and perky as it ever did. Amid the hits on the original record are stencils and outlines for yet more magical music and now this deluxe edition adds a second disc of demos and acoustic versions, plus a host of one-offs from sessions and compilations that add further colour to the myth and how it was created.

The Lemonheads:
Come on Feel [30th Anniversary Edition]

There’s the in-demand combo lovingly covering Victoria Williams’ ‘Frying Pan’ from her ‘Sweet Relief’ album, which is joined by an eclectic set of flipsides and out-takes, like their version of original garage punk nugget ‘Little Black Egg’ by The Nightcrawlers, Evan’s homage to Gram Parsons on the winsome ‘Streets Of Baltimore’ and Buddy Holly’s melancholy ‘Learning The Game’. Evan knows a good song when he hears it, as ‘Come On Feel The Lemonheads’ certainly proved. Fire Records

“Come On Feel was home to some of his best, sharpest writing – fabulous sunny powerpop and beautiful ballads” The Guardian
“’Come On Feel The Lemonheads’ is all it purports to be: a chance to dip into Evan’s jumbled-up, dope-smoking love-buggy of a life and celebrate it” NME

Audio CD:


Disc: 1

  • The Great Big No
  • Into Your Arms
  • It’s About Time
  • Down About It
  • Paid to Smile
  • Big Gay Heart
  • Style
  • Rest Assured
  • Dawn Can’t Decide
  • I’ll Do It Anyway
  • Rick James Style
  • Being Around
  • Favorite T
  • You Can Take It with You
  • The Jello Fund (+ Lenny – Hidden Track)

Disc: 2

  • Big Gay Heart (Demo)
  • Being Around (Alternative)
  • Into Your Arms (Acoustic)
  • Down About It (Acoustic)
  • Deep Bottom Cove
  • Acoustic Rick James Style
  • It’s About Time (Acoustic)
  • Miss Otis Regrets
  • Learning the Game
  • Little Black Egg
  • Streets of Baltimore (Acoustic)
  • Frying Pan
  • He’s on the Beach
  • Favorite T (Live in Session)

Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 4.92 x 5.51 x 0.79 inches; 2.82 Ounces
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Fire Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Fire Records
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *