Skip to content

Dean Owens | El Tiradito (The Curse of Sinner’s Shrine) (2023)


Hot on the heels of 2022’s smash Sinner’s Shrine comes its “little brother”. El Tiradito (The Curse Of Sinner’s Shrine) is a double album (2 CDs in a beautifully designed 6 panel digipak), again featuring members of desert noir icons CALEXICO, and recorded partly at WaveLab Studio, Tucson AZ and partly in various home studios from Tucson to Berlin via Pencaitland.
Disc 1 features songs from the long since sold out Desert Trilogy EPs, while Disc 2 is an all new, all instrumental “theme for an imaginary Western” inspired by the story behind Tucson landmark El Tiradito (the Sinner’s Shrine). Stories of love and lust, sinners and saints, the displaced, the wanderers and the border ghosts. Dean Owens

Dean Owens:
El Tiradito (The Curse of Sinner’s Shrine)

El Tiradito (The Curse of Sinner’s Shrine) marks the next stage of Dean Owens’s hugely atmospheric collaboration with iconic Latin rockers Calexico. With Owens tapping into his inner Morricone, all it needs now is a screenplay.
Situated in the Old Barrio area of Downtown Tucson, Arizona, El Tiradito is a Catholic shrine dedicated to a sinner buried in unconsecrated ground. Legend tells how, in the 1870s, 18-year-old ranch hand Juan Oliveras married the daughter of his sheep-rancher employer but also had a secret affair with his mother-in-law. On discovering this, the husband chased Juan into the street of Barrio Viejo and murdered him before fleeing to Mexico, his wife hanging herself out of grief. Looking to return to his ranch to gather his flock, he’s attacked by Apaches, stabbed, scalped, tied to a cactus and left for dead, his body is found by a passing stagecoach and buried in Nogales. Meanwhile, back in Tucson, refused a church burial, Juan has been buried on the street where he died while his widow, finding herself pregnant, ties a rope around her neck and throws herself down the ranch’s well, and is buried under a nearby tree. Today, visitors to Juan’s shrine come to make wishes asking for healing of the heart and to leave mementoes of lost loved ones… Folk Radio

Audio CD:


  • Mother Road (4:15)
  • Dolina (Sand & Blood) (3:21)
  • Ashes & Dust (3:32)
  • Tombstone Rose (3:18)
  • Riverline (4:45)
  • She Was A Raven (3:26)
  • Even When I’m Gone (3:08)
  • The End (4:02)
  • La Lomita (Home demo) (4:00)
  • The Hopeless Ghosts (Home demo) (3:48)


  • El Tiradito (2:23)
  • A Bullet And A Silver Coin (2:58)
  • Canyon Without A Name (2:11)
  • How The West Was Stolen (3:05)
  • The Rain That Never Lands (3:02)
  • The Final Ride (2:12)
  • Weeping Skulls (2:18)
  • Ride The Hanging Road (3:26)

Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.91 x 0.2 x 4.72 inches; 2.12 Ounces
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Continental Song Cit
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Continental Song Cit
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *