Skip to content

Frank Zappa | Funky Nothingness (2023)


Funky Nothingness is the Frank Zappa “lost album” sequel to the iconic Hot Rats (1969). Primarily recorded at The Record Plant studio (1970) containing mostly unreleased compositions & jams featuring Don “Sugarcane” Harris & newcomer Aynsley Dunbar. Titled by Zappa himself, this compilation contains vintage FZ mixes with modern mixes by Craig Parker Adams. The expanded 3 CD, Mastered by John Polito, features audio not found on the 2LP & includes a 28 page booklet. Zappa Records
In the pantheon of jazz-rock, Frank Zappa’s 1969 LP Hot Rats is surely near the pinnacle. The primarily instrumental album recorded by Zappa, multi-instrumentalist Ian Underwood, and the top tier of L.A.’s session musicians melded the compositional and improvisational sophistication of jazz with Zappa’s gritty, searing, and blues-drenched electric rock style… The Second Disc

Frank Zappa: Funky Nothingness

Recorded to 16 tracks at a time when the technology was still in its infancy, Hot Rats pushed the boundaries of production. Elements of Hot Rats were touched upon by Zappa in numerous future projects, but a proper sequel was never released. What wasn’t known until recently, however, is that Zappa recorded one. On June 30, Zappa Records and UMe will release Funky Nothingness, recorded in the year following the release of Hot Rats and building upon its sound with many of the same musicians including Underwood, violinist Don “Sugarcane” Harris, and Wrecking Crew bassist Max Bennett. The five-piece group was completed by drummer Aynsley Dunbar whom Zappa had recently met (and who would play a key role in future projects). Funky Nothingness will arrive in multiple formats including a 3-CD deluxe edition and different color variants of a 2-LP set. The Second Disc

Audio CD:


CD 1: Funky Nothingness

  • Funky Nothingness
  • Tommy/Vincent Duo I
  • Love Will Make Your Mind Go Wild
  • I’m A Rollin’ Stone
  • Chunga’s Revenge (Basement Version)
  • Basement Jam
  • Work With Me Annie / Annie Had A Baby
  • Tommy/Vincent Duo II
  • Sharleena (1970 Record Plant Mix)
  • Khaki Sack
  • Twinkle Tits

CD 2: Zappa/Hot Rats
’70 Session Masters and Bonus Nothingness

  • Chunga’s Revenge (Take 5)
  • Love Will Make Your Mind Go Wild (Take 4)
  • Transylvania Boogie (Unedited Master)
  • Sharleena (Unedited Master)
  • Work With Me Annie/Annie Had A Baby (Alternate Edit)
  • Twinkle Tits (Take 1, False Start)
  • Twinkle Tits (Take 2)

CD 3: Zappa/Hot Rats
’70 Session Masters and Bonus Nothingness

  • The Clap (Unedited Master-Part I)
  • The Clap (Unedited Master-Part II)
  • Tommy/Vincent Duo (Unedited Master)
  • Chunga’s Revenge (Take 8)
  • Halos and Arrows
  • Moldred
  • Fast Funky Nothingness

Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 4.96 x 5.59 x 0.39 inches; 11.52 Ounces
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ Zappa Records
Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2023
Label ‏ : ‎ Zappa Records
Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 3

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 3 / 5. Vote count: 4

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *